Group Members

Principal Investigator

Dr. Peichun Amy Tsai

Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada    2007/11

Assistant Professor
Canada Research Chair in Fluids and Interfaces (Tier II)
Mechanical Engineering, University of Alberta, 2014/12 – present
Chemical Engineering, University of Twente, 2012–2014

Post-doctoral Research Associate
Complex Fluids Group (with Howard A. Stone), Princeton University, USA, 2010–2012
Physics of Fluids Group (with Detlef Lohse), University of Twente, The Netherlands, 2008–2010

Research in Applied Fluid Mechanics, particularly focussing on nano/microfluidics, evaporation, electrokinetics, wetting, droplet impact dynamics, and porous media flow.

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr. Adrien Bussonnière

Ph.D. Fluid Mechanics, University of Lille 1, France (2014)
M.Sc. Fluid Mechanics, University of Lille 1, France (2011)

Research interest: microfluidics & complex fluids.

Dr. Xiaoyan Zhang

Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Chongqing University (2012)

Research interest: numerical simulation & heat transport.

Graduate Students

Sourayon Chanda

M.Sc. Mechanical Engineering, University of Alberta (2015)
B. Tech., National Institute of Technology, Durgapur, India

Research interest: electrokinetics and soft matter.

Masoud Bozorg Bigdeli

M.Sc. Mechanical Engineering, Politecnico di Torino, Italy (2014)

Research interest: nanofluidics and heat transport.

Tsai-Hsing (Martin) Ho

M.Sc. National Taiwan University

Research interest: complex fluids and porous media flow.

Grégoire Bongrand

B.Sc. Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Nancy, France (2016)

Research interest: convection and porous media flow.

Tsing-Ying (Cindy) Yu

Exchange graduate student, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan (2017)

Research interest: microfluidics and bio-applications.

Undergraduate Students

Linda Liu

Co-op student, University of Alberta.

Research interest: nanofluids.


Donatien Mottin, Exchange graduate student, ESPCI Paris, France (2017).

Lukas Geschke, Exchange graduate student, RWTH Aachen University, Germany (2017).

Jorge Estrada Flores, Visiting undergraduate student, National University of Engineering, Lima, Peru (2017).

Ricardo A Vilchez Yovera, Visiting undergraduate student, National University of Engineering, Lima, Peru (2017).

Akhila Jayaram, Visiting undergraduate student, Nanotechnology Program, University of Leeds, UK (2016).

Yunlai Chen, Visiting undergraduate student, University of Science and Technology of China (2016).

Kerry Friedrich, Co-op student, Chemical Engineering, University of Alberta (2016).

Yichen Tian, Co-op student, Civil Engineering, University of Alberta (2016).

Jia-Hau Ching, Visiting Master student, Physics, National Central University Taiwan (2015/09-2016/08).

Sara Khan, Undergraduate student, Mechanical Engineering, University Alberta (2016).